Foreign tourist can visit Mogok Township

Min Thiha Zaw


Foreign tourists can visit Mogok Township with permission, although it is considered a restricted area for travellers, according to Ministry of Hotels and Tourism.

The ministry also said that the Ministry of Home Affairs and the office of Commander-in-Chief of Defence Services (Army) gave a list of security limited areas to the President Office to assist tourists and foreigners living locally who want to go on domestic tours.

The list has also been sent to the restricted areas.

However, the ministry has announced that licensed tour companies were temporarily banned from visiting to the restricted areas.

At present, licensed tour companies are given green light to tour downtown Mogok Township by asking permission from the Hotels Ministry.

In Myanmar, the restricted areas include: Naungmoon, Kawnglanghpu, Sumprabum, Tanai, Hpakant, Injangyang, Hsawlaw and Chibwe Townships in Kachin State, Hpasawng, Shadaw, Bawlakha and Maisal Townships in Kayah State, Phapun and Kyainseikkyi Townships in Kayin State, Nanyun Self-Administered Zone in Sagaing Region,  Kyaikmaraw and Thanbyuzayat Townships in Mon State and far-flung townships of the Shan State.


Translated by Khin Sett Maw