Nine men Yangon United won General Aung San Shield

General Aung San Shield winner Yangon United (Photo-Nyi Nyi Soe Nyunt)


Yangon United FC beat Hanthawaddy United FC 2-1 in the final of General Aung San Shield 2018 held on September 30 at Aung San Stadium.

Two players from Yangon United were sent off in the second half.

Yangon United fielded its strong squad including three foreign players. The first half ended with a goalless draw. In the second half, Hein Htet Aung from Hanthawaddy United FC scored in 58th minute. After that Hanthawaddy United FC pressured on Yangon United and awarded a penalty in 66th minute. Yangon United players opposed forcefully on the referee decision to award penalty, which led to goalkeeper Kyaw Zin Htet and defender Kyaw Min Khant being sent off. Substitute goalkeeper San Satt Naing saved the penalty and motivated the Yangon United players. They returned a goal back in the 73rd minute by winger Maung Maung Lwin from a free kick. The winning goal came in 86th minute through a header from defender Zaw Min Htun at a corner kick.

Yangon United won the trophy as well as Ks30 million and second place Hanthawaddy United FC was awarded Ks15 million.

Best coach and best player awards for September won by Myo Min Tun from Yangon United and Than Htet Aung from Hanthawaddy United FC. It is third time for Than Htet Aung to win best player award in this season and second time for Myo Min Tun to win best coach award.