Yangon United won MNL title for fifth times

Yangon United players celebrate their victory (Photo-Nyi Nyi Soe Nyunt)


Yangon United FC thrashed Southern Myanmar FC at home in the final day of the competition held on September 22 and won the title for the fifth time in history.

Although Shan United FC, last year’s MNL winner, pressured Yangon United FC with a point gap, they still managed to win the title.

Yangon United ended their campaigns in 2016 and 2017 when they didn’t win the MNL trophy.

Yangon Untied fielded their star players including Yan Aung Kyaw, Kyaw Zin Htet, Maung Maung Lwin, Sekou Sylla and Emmanuel Uzochukwu. Yangon United started its attack from wings and the opening goal is scored by Winger Maung Maung Lwin in 30th minutes. They added second goal before the interval by another Winger Kyaw Zin Oo. Yangon United created better chances in second half and two more goals scored by Kyaw Zin Oo and Soe Min Naing in 61st and 77th minutes respectively.

Yangon United won Ks100 million as prize money along with the MNL title. The prizes were awarded by Chairman Zaw Zaw of Myanmar Football Federation (MFF) and officials.

In other matches, last year winner Shan United FC beat Myawady FC 2-1, Hantharwady FC defeated Ayeyawady United FC 5-0, former title winner Yadanarbon FC beat Sagaing FC 3-0 and Rakhin FC beat Magway United FC 2-0.

Best player award for July and September is won by Thiha Zaw from Ayayawady United FC and best coach award went to Ngwe Tun from Hantharwady FC.