Parliament refuses to form committee to monitor Union Chief Justice

A proposal to form a committee to monitor all judgments passed by the Chief Justice of the Union failed to pass a vote in the Lower House of parliament on January 21.

Lower House MP Soe Win of Sangyoung constituency submitted a proposal to form a committee or commission comprised on MPs to monitor the Union Chief Justice’s judgments.

The MP said during the parliament session: “According to the 2008 Constitution, Section 298 states that the Chief Justice of the Union may submit important judiciary decisions concerning the Union or the public either to a session of the Pyidaungsu Hluttaw (Union Parliament) or the Pyithu Hluttaw (Lower House) or the Amyotha Hluttaw (Upper House) from time to time. It is not enough that the Union Chief Justice submits a report to the parliament. All judgments of the Union Chief Justice must be reported to the parliament to determine whether they are in line with the law and whether the Chief Justice takes responsibility and accountability in line with laws. People can complain to the president or the Rule of Law, Peace and Tranquility Committee. However, parliament needs to take action against the unfair judgments even when not complaint letters are received.”

Union Supreme Court Justice Soe Nyunt posited that the proposal was rejected because it conflicts with the 2008 constitution.

However the MP Soe Win told the journalists that he will re-submit it again.

Over 10,000 complaint letters in 2014 were submitted to the Lower House Judicial Committee, which is chaired by Thura Aung Ko. Most of the complaint letters are about the judiciary branch and unfair judgments.