NLD forms central committee for winning elections

The opposition National League for Democracy (NLD) formed a central committee for winning elections in 2015 on February 9.

NLD patron Tin Oo will chair the committee. Maung Maung Oo, a central executive committee member, will serve as secretary.

Nyan Win (CEC member), Nan Khin Htwe Myint (CEC member), Marn Jonny (Ayeyawady Region), Dr Than Ngwe (Shan State), Dr Tin Myo Win (Taninthayi Region), Win Mya Mya (Mandalay Region), Shar Mee (Sagaing Region), Maung Kywin Aung (Rakhine State), Khin Win (Magway Region), Kyu Kyu Than (Kachin State), Min Oo (Bago Region), Dr Khin Hsaung (Mon State), Nwe Nwe Aung (Mon State), Dr Soe Moe Thu (in-charge of central youth taskforce), Kyaw Zeya (organiser of the central taskforce) and Than Oo (treasurer) have been appointed as 


“We already formed the central committee for winning elections. Its first meeting has not been held yet. It is too early to say when it will be,” Secretary Maung Maung Oo said.

The NLD was founded on September 27, 1988 under the leadership of Aung San Suu Kyi. The party won 392 of 492 parliamentary seats in the 1990 general election, whose results were never recognised. 

Instead of taking office, most of the winning candidates were imprisoned. The military regime continued to arrest and imprison other party members after 1990. Branch party offices were also closed.

The NLD did not accept the military-drafted 2008 Constitution and did not take part in the 2010 elections. However, the party did participate in the 2012 by-elections and won 43 of 45 seats. The party did not win any seats in Shan State.