MPs demand probe into immigrant vote

Twenty-seven Upper House MPs have called for the Constitutional Tribunal to rule whether giving the right to vote to temporary citizens or white-card holders is in line with the 2008 Constitution. 

Dr Aye Maung of the Rakhine National Party said: “All existing laws are legal as long as they are not annulled or amended by the Union Parliament and are in line with the 2008 Constitution.”

At least 10 per cent of the Upper House MPs’ signatures are needed to establish a constitutional tribunal to decide if an issue is constitutional. 

The list of signatures includes: Aye Maung, Kyaw Kyaw, Khin Maung, Aung Kyaw Oo, Khin Maung Lat, Ohn Tin and Kyaw Tun Aung from the Rakhine National Party; Saw Than Tun and Saw Aung Kyaw Naing from Phalon-Sawaw Democratic Party; independent Hpone Myint Aung; two Chin National Party MPs; Sai Mya Maung and Sai San Min from Shan Nationality Democratic Party; Tun Kyaw from the Ta’ang-Paloung Development Party; Mann Aung Tin Myint and Saw Taw Palae from Karen State Development Party; Dr Banyar Aung Moe, Dr Kyaw Thein and Min Myo Tint Lwin from the All Mon Region Democracy Party; Maung Aye Tun and Thar Khin from the Union Solidarity and Development Party; Khin Wine Kyi from the National Democratic Force; J Yawo from the National Unity Party; Aung Kyi Nyunt, Dr Myint Naing, Min Oo and Thein Swe from the National League for Democracy. 

MP Aung Kyi Nyunt said: “The white-card issue is very complicated legally. According to the Immigration Department, white-card holders are not citizens nor of the quality to become citizens. It is just a record of temporary residence. We don’t need to argue with each other and we should get a clear decision on such a complicated issue. The Rakhine National Party wants to send this issue to the Constitutional Tribunal. We do this as a right under the Constitution.”