Suu Kyi meets Independent Commission of Enquiry’s chairperson

Nay Won Htet
State Counsellor meets with the Chairperson of Independent Commission of Enquiry.
YANGON- State Counsellor Aung San Suu Kyi, also the Union Minister of Foreign Affairs, met with Ambassador Rosario Manalo, Chairperson of Independent Commission of Enquiry yesterday at her office in Nay Pyi Taw, according to the State Counsellor’s Office.
Union Minister Kyaw Tint Swe of the State Counsellor Office, Union Minister Thaung Tun, International Cooperation Minister Kyaw Tin and Commission’s members Mya Thein, Ambassador Kenzo Oshima and Prof Dr Aung Tun Thet were present at the meet.
After Arakan Rohingya Salvation Army (ARSA) terror group attacks and subsequent fallout occurred in Rakhine State, government had formed Independent Commission of Enquiry on July 30th with the aim to investigate accusations of human rights violation and related cases.
Ambassador Rosario Manalo, former Deputy Foreign Minister of the Philippines and former Chairperson and current representative of the Philippines to the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women-CEDAW was appointed as the Chairman of said enquiry commission. Members included Mya Thein, former chairman of Constitutional Tribunal, Ambassador Kenzo Oshima, former Under-Secretary-General for Humanitarian Affairs and Emergency Relief Coordinator and former Permanent Representative of Japan to the United Nations and Dr Aung Tun Thet, former Senior Official of UNICEF and former Principal Officer UN System Staff College.
The commission aims to carry out reconciliation, peace, stability and development in Rakhine State and will be assisted by both local and foreign legal and technical experts.