UEC completes compilation of voter lists for by-election

Myo Min Htet


Union Election Commission has compiled the lists of eligible voters for the coming by-election, Myint Naing, a spokesperson of Union Election Commission told the Daily Eleven.

There are 13 vacant constituencies for the by-election scheduled for November 3 this year.

On June 15, the UEC finished the compilation of voter lists in Myingyan Township where there are more than 200,000 eligible voters.

“The number of eligible voters is estimated to reach more than or nearly 900,000. The UEC will issue the lists of eligible voters in early July. I would like to urge eligible voters to check whether the facts are correct or not,” he added.

There are 17,489 voters in Matupi Constituency, 12,475 in Kanpetlet Constituency and 34,832 in Tamu Constituency.

Vacant constituencies for lower house parliament:  Kanpetlet, Lechar, Tamwe and Myinchan. Vacant constituency for upper house parliament is Kachin Constituency-2 (Myitkyina).  Vacant constituencies for region/state parliaments are: Matupi, Tamu, Ottwin, Thabeikkyin, Yathaedaung, Minbu, Seikkan and Shan national affairs constituency in Mandalay region parliament.

Currently, the opposition Union Solidarity and Development Party is monitoring the UEC’s undertakings. The USDP’s spokespersons said the USDP was thinking whether to compete in by-election.