2018 By-election scheduled for Nov 3: UEC

Kyaw Zin Win

Union Election Commission announced on May 8 that the 2018 By-election will be held for 13 vacant constituencies nationwide on November 3.

Currently, there are four vacant seats for lower house parliament, one for Upper House parliament and eight for Region and State parliaments.

Four vacant constituencies for lower house parliament are: Kanpetlet, Lechar, Tamwe and Myingyan constituencies. One vacant constituency for upper house parliament is Myitkyina constituency-2.

Vacant constituencies for region parliament are: Tamu constituency-2 in Sagaing region, Ottwin constituency-2 in Bago region, Thabeikkyin constituency-1 in Mandalay region, Shan National Affairs constituency in Mandalay region, Minbu constituency-2 in Magway region and Seikkan constituency-2 in Yangon region.

Vacant constituencies for state parliament are: Matupi constituency-1 in Chin State and Yathaedaung constituency-2 in Rakhine State.

Parliament seats are vacant as MPs in most of the vacant spots had passed away. There were also some that resigned from their posts.

The compilation of voter lists is being carried out in the vacant constituencies. Since the incumbent government led by National League for Democracy took power, the first by-election was held in April, 2017.

There were 19 vacant constituencies in the 2017 by-election in which the ruling NLD won 10 seats, the Union Solidarity and Development Party, six seats, the Shan Nationalities League for Democracy, six seats, the All Nationalities Democracy Party (Kayah State), one seat and the Arakan National Party, one seat.