Canvassing campaigns for November by-election kick off

Than Hlaing, Paing Bo


Independent candidates and candidates from political parties have started their vote canvassing campaigns for the vacant constituencies for the upcoming by-election scheduled for November 3.

Union Election Commission has designated the canvassing period as 60 days, starting from September 3 to November 1.

Khaing Pyi Soe, vice-chair of Arakan National Party (ANP) said: “The ANP will compete for a vacant seat in Yathaedaung Township Constituency-2 in Rakhine State. The ANP started its canvassing campaign yesterday. Other political parties have not started their campaigns. But there may be competition later. I think the ANP has not many competition. There are 90 villages in the Constituency-2. Every village has a ward and village committee. There are 50,000 eligible voters. The ANP’s target is to get 20,000 votes.”

Yathaedaung Township Constituency-2 is vacant as deputy speaker of Rakhine State Parliament Phoe Min passed away. Candidate Maung Hla Myint from the ANP, independent candidate Tin Maung Win, candidate Khin Maung Than from the National League for Democracy and candidate Thein Maung from the Arakan League for Democracy will run for the vacant seat.

Likewise, candidates started canvassing for a vacant lower house parliamentary seat in Myingyan Township yesterday.

Sein Myint from the NLD, Myo Han from the New Human Society Democratic Party, Dr Than Win from the Union Solidarity and Development Party and Ye Kyaw Aung from the People’s Labour Party will run for the vacant seat in Myingyan Township. Myingyan Township constituency is vacant as former lower house MP Paw Khin died of heart disease.

A total of 69 candidates from political parties including independent candidates will run for 13 vacant constituencies in the November 3 by-election.

There are 13 vacant constituencies nationwide—four vacant seats for lower house parliament, one for Upper House parliament and eight for Region and State parliaments.

Four vacant constituencies for lower house parliament are: Kanpetlet, Lechar, Tamwe and Myingyan constituencies. One vacant constituency for upper house parliament is Myitkyina constituency-2.

Vacant constituencies for regional parliaments are: Tamu constituency-2 in Sagaing region, Ottwin constituency-2 in Bago region, Thabeikkyin constituency-1 in Mandalay region, Shan National Affairs constituency in Mandalay region, Minbu constituency-2 in Magway region and Seikkan constituency-2 in Yangon region.

Vacant constituencies for state parliaments are: Matupi constituency-1 in Chin State and Yathaedaung constituency-2 in Rakhine State.

The ruling National League for Democracy (NLD) will compete in all vacant constituencies in the November 3 by-election while the opposition Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP) will run for 10 vacant constituencies only.

The ruling NLD won 9 out of the 19 vacant seats nationwide in the April 1 by-election.