NLD dismisses two MPs from positions

San Htoo Aung
MP Kyaw Zeya and MP Thet Thet Khaing were seen at a canvassing campaign for the 2015 Election. (Photo-Thet Thet Khaing facebook).


The ruling National League for Democracy (NLD) dismissed Lower House MP Thet Thet Khaing representing Dagon Township Constituency and Regional MP Kyaw Zeya representing Dagon Township Constituency-2, from their positions in the party.

MP Kyaw Zeya said: “I and Daw Thet Thet Khaing are executive members of Dagon Township NLD. But we will remain ordinary party members. I don’t know why we are dismissed from our positions. I got a notification letter only. The action is taken according to the NLD headquarters’ decision. The letter did not describe the reason.”

“I can make a complaint if the decision is made at the region level. I will not make a comment about it as it is the NLD headquarters’ decision. I will not compete in elections in 2020. I will give priority to youths.”

MP Thet Thet Khaing said: “The NLD dismisses me from my position in the party. I am an executive member of Dagon Township NLD. I am not expelled from the party.”

Dr Myo Nyunt, a spokesperson of the NLD said: “Two MPs are dismissed according to the party’s rules. Members can remonstrate and debate about different views in the party. But they must follow policies and directives. Talking about the things with one-sided views may hamper the party’s unity. The NLD takes action against them according to the party’s rule as the party wants members to exactly abide by directives and rules set by the party.”

These two MPs are evident among the public as they criticized the government. 

The NLD issued a statement dated August 27, according to the decision made at the NLD’s CEC meeting on August 25, the NLD officially expelled Than Win, a CEC member of the Ottwin Township NLD from the party.

In addition, the NLD dismissed lower MP Dr Soe Moe Thu representing Myaungmya Township Constituency in Ayeyarwady Region, from his position in the party due to social problems. But the Lower House Speaker issued a notification on August 29, this year that Dr Soe Moe Thu was appointed a member of the International Relations Committee formed by the Lower House Parliament.