Suu Kyi asks movie stars to back peace

EMG reporter
The 2016 Myanmar Motion Picture Academy Awards ceremony (Photo-EMG)

Yangon hosted motion picture academy award ceremony for 2016 at the People's Park on March 18 and Vice President Henry Van Thio attended the ceremony.

State Counsellor Aung San Suu Kyi sent a formal letter and actress Eaindra Kyaw Zin read it.

She said in her message: “I would like to make a profound request and ask for help from all artists, including from the film sector, to help to bring peace, unity and prosperity which is needed by the people. I want to urge all of you to provide help to bring the success by urging people to lessen dislike for each other and to keep abreast with international events based on character and diligence.”

Dr Pe Myint, minister of information, said the ministry was helping with the academy awards, which had been conducted by the Myanmar Motion Picture Association since 2013.

Lu Min, chairman of the association, delivered a thank-you speech and started the ceremony.

The best actor award went to Tun Tun and Thet Mon Myint won best actress. Lu Min was named best supporting actor and Nyunt Myanmar Nyi Nyi Aung won best director. The best supporting actress and best screenplay awards were not given out.

Translated by Aung Kyaw Kyaw