Telecom licence awardees announced

The Ministry of Communications and Information Technology has granted communication licences to three telecom companies, according to Than Tun Aung, director-general of the telecommunications directorate.

Those licence awardees are KDDI, E-Lite and Yatanarpon Teleport companies.

A total of 50 local and foreign companies have applied to the directorate of telecommunications for communication-related services such as installation of fibres, construction of towers, satellite services and other services. The ministry has already granted licences to eight local and foreign companies since January this year.

Licence-winning local and foreign companies are Shwe Than Lwin, Digicel Myanmar Tower Company, Global Technology, Myanmar Fiberoptic Communication Network, Pan Asia Majestic Eagle, Irrawaddy Green Tower, Appllow Tower Myanmar, KDDI Summit Global Myanmar, E-lite Telecom Public Company and Yatanarpon Teleport Public Company.